Elections Team Statement

January 16, 2018


KINGSTON, ON – Today, AMS Chief Electoral Officer Matthew Ierino made the following statement on behalf of the AMS Elections Team:

“The AMS Executive Nomination Period closed yesterday, January 15th, 2018.  After the All Candidates Meeting, two teams picked up a nomination package.  Only Team ECN, consisting of Presidential Candidate Emily VanderHeyden, Vice President (Operations) Candidate Craig Draeger, and Vice President (University Affairs) Candidate Natasha Kornak successfully obtained the requisite number of signatures and submitted the nomination package by the deadline as established in policy.

AMS Elections and Referenda Policy Manual, Part C, Section 1.i states that ‘a vote of confidence will be held at the set election date to determine if the team will be acclaimed. The team will be subject to all rules concerning candidacy.

I encourage all students to engage in the upcoming process by reading Team ECN’s platform, by attending the open forum on January 25th at 7pm in Wallace Hall and participating in dialogue with fellow students on campus.

The open forum will also be livestreamed to the AMS Facebook Page.  Students can submit questions to be asked of Team ECN to up until 4:00 p.m. on January 25th.  As per AMS Policy, all teams will be required to submit a platform-in-full no later than 24 hours prior to the start of the open forum.”


All questions can be addressed to Matthew Ierino, Chief Electoral Officer, at


Alma Mater Society (AMS) – http://www.myams.org 

The central undergraduate student government at Queen’s University, the AMS represents over 17,000 students and is the oldest student government in Canada. It has over 1,000 student volunteers and 700 paid staff.


Effective May 1 2022 our new address is (Lasalle) 146 Stuart Street, Kingston, ON K7L 2V8

© MyAMS.org | All rights reserved.

Skip to content